MP Statements on Sheikh Jarrah, Al Aqsa raids, Gaza, & more

Below are political statements from the Canadian government, Members of Parliament, and some provincial politicians, in response to the escalation of violence in the Middle East in May 2021.

Note 1: This may not be a comprehensive list. Not included in this list are MPs who shared or retweeted statements from others, but who did not write their own. Where multiple statements exist, particular attention is paid to those which are critical of Israel, including the evictions in Sheikh Jarrah, the violent raids on Al Aqsa, and/or the airstrikes in Gaza. If you notice that a statement is missing here which you believe should be included, please send to [email protected] 

Note 2: Not all statements are equal: while most of the below statements include direct or implied criticism of Israel's actions, there are some exceptions. For example, Conservative Party statements only criticize Hamas, while statements from the Green Party leader are particularly vague. On the other hand, there is a small group of MPs who have used terms such as apartheid and ethnic cleansing to describe Israel's actions, and a larger number of MPs and Senators (from all political parties) who have called for sanctions on Israel.

In this page:

Joint Statements with MPs from more than one Political Party

Canada-Palestine Parliamentary Friendship Group

Signatories: Liberal MPs: Salma Zahid, Chandra Arya, Shaun Chen, Pam Damoff, Sukh Dhaliwal, Majid Jowhari, Iqra Khalid, Kamal Khera, Adam van Koeverden, Joël Lightbound, Soraya Martinez Ferrada, Ruby Sahota, Sonia Sidhu, Lenore Zann, Patrick Weiler. BQ MP: Mario Beaulieu. NDP MPs: Alexandre Boulerice, Don Davies, Leah Gazan, Lindsay Mathyssen. Green MPs: Paul Manly and Elizabeth May. Independent MPs: Yasmin Ratansi and Marwan Tabbara. Conservative Party Senator: Salma Ataullahjan. Independent Senator: Mohamed-Iqbal Ravalia. Added later: Liberal MPs Ruby Sahota and Karen McCrimmon.

Inter-Parliamentary Task Force to Promote Palestinian Human Rights

Canadian signatories: NDP MP Niki Ashton and Green MP Paul Manly. Later added: Rubal Ghazal, Québec Solidaire MNA

Canadian Government, Diplomats, and Liberal MPs

Justin Trudeau (Prime Minister)

Marc Garneau (Foreign Affairs Minister)

Bob Rae (Canada's Ambassador to the United Nations)

Canada's diplomats in Ramallah

Karina Gould

Salma Zahid

Nathaniel Erskine-Smith

Iqra Khalid

Sameer Zuberi

Rob Oliphant

Ya'ara Saks

Omar Alghabra

Maryam Monsef

Mark Holland

Sven Spengemann

Catherine McKenna

Adam Van Koeverden

Ahmed Hussen

Arif Virani

Peter Fragiskatos

Ruby Sahota

Karen McCrimmon

Emmanuella Lambropoulos


Jagmeet Singh (NDP Leader)

Jack Harris

Matthew Green

Niki Ashton

Leah Gazan

Heather McPherson

Alexandre Boulerice

Charlie Angus

Don Davies

Brian Masse

Laurel Collins

Tracey Ramsey

Green MPs and Leadership

Annamie Paul (Green Party leader, not an MP)

Elizabeth May

Paul Manly

Jenica Atwin

Bloc Québécois MPs

Stéphane Bergeron (Bloc Québécois)

Conservative Party MPs

(Note: No CPC statements are critical of Israel's actions. The below tweets are included here as examples).

Erin O'Toole (Conservative Party leader)

Michael Chong

Independent MPs

Yasmin Ratansi

Marwan Tabbara

Provincial politicians

Ruba Ghazal (Québec solidaire MNA, Quebec)

Kevin Arsenault (Green MLA, New Brunswick)

Joel Harden (NDP MPP, Ontario)

Rima Berns-McGown (NDP MPP, Ontario)